Day 29 a/ 29 b/ 29c

As I  reach the end of this challenge, I’m finding two things happening.

1.  I’m missing a few more days.
2.  I’m harder on myself for what really counts as 30-30.  ‘Cause I want it to be legitimate.  I don’t want to have fluffed my way through this.

Day 29a – I cleaned both bathrooms and the kitchen.  And it took me 4 hours.  I’m talking scrubbing the floors on my hands and knees, scrubbing out the tubs, scrubbing out the shower, baseboards, emptying drawers, sorting/tossing….it was the whole schmabang.  And I even got N&S.  But I just didn’t feel like it counted….until that evening when my shoulders and wrists started aching…but it didn’t count enough to count.  Thus, the “a.”

Day 29b – Sunday – Yes, Mothers’ Day.  Except for sleeping in, second service instead of first, and Chipotle for lunch…well, I guess we did celebrate.  And I wore Grandma’s pin.  It always makes me feel special inside to wear something that I know was so special to her.  And that Grandpa gave her.  And the kids love that she is wearing it in the picture on the fridge.  We served dinner at Safe Haven that evening.  So nothing that could really count as a completion of  “a.”

Day 29c – I decided this close to the finale, I needed to kick it up a notch.  So, after my typical quarter mile warm up, I walked another mile @ 3.3, then I ran….for 1/2 mile!  I think that’s the furthest I’ve run since Baby Boy was born!  (I don’t think we ran a 1/2 mile straight at last summer’s race G.G.)  Then I walked for 1/2 mile, and then ran a second 1/2 mile!  (*insert the happy dance here.*)  Then I cooled down for 1/4 mile.   2.27 miles in 35 mins.  I felt pretty proud!  🙂 

That definitely counted as a completion day!

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Garden Gnome on May 11, 2011 at 7:00 am

    Wow! I would’ve counted that cleaning as 2 days! Hey, my gardening counts as lots of calories burned! I’ll have to look up “spring cleaning” and see if it’s on my plate’s list of exercises!

    Somedays I want to just count living as exercise, it seems to take a lot of energy just to cope. And at 6.30 AM I can already tell that today is going to be one of those days! 😦 Praying for a positive attitude in spite of ….

    Now, I’m off to DAB and then Leslie.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Sister in Sweat on May 24, 2011 at 2:35 pm

    Way to go on the running! That’s great! Especially to do it twice! I’m getting pretty sick of people asking me if I’m still running. Do I look like I’m still running? Do I look like I SHOULD be running? Stop rubbing it in!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

